Event Image
Subscriber Event

The Information SPAC Conference 2020 -- The Dawn of a New Era, or the Beginning of the End?

Friday, November 13, 2020 • 9:00 am - 2:00 pm

2020 is the year of the tech SPAC, and we’re convening the leading managers and advisors to demystify this massive new phenomenon.  Will it bring an exciting new era to the innovation economy or is it a transient over-hyped fancy?

We will break down why we are seeing a flurry of new SPAC funds and what to expect in the year ahead. This half-day virtual event will include discussions, interviews and one-on-one conversations with leading SPAC sponsors and the investors and the bankers and lawyers advising them.

Topics to include:

  • The history of SPACs and the "Why Now" answer  
  • Comparing the SPAC, direct listing and IPO 
  • Growing competition in the field/pressure on fees
  • Public investor perspective on SPACs 
  • Recruiting board members to a SPAC
  • Targets for acquisition
  • Why should a team consider a SPAC

Speakers to include:

  • Kevin Hartz, Co-Founder & CEO, A*
  • David Panton, Managing Partner, Navigation Capital Partners 
  • Betsy Cohen, Founder, The Bancorp & Chairman, Fintech Acquisition Corp. IV 
  • Joanna Coles, CEO, Northern Star
  • Olympia McNerney, Managing Director, Goldman Sachs
  • Michael Harris, Head of Capital Markets, Citadel Securities
  • George Arison, Co-founder & Co-CEO, SHIFT
  • Elinor L. Hoover, Global Co-Head of the Consumer Products Group, Citi
  • John Tuttle, Vice Chairman & Chief Commercial Officer, NYSE Group
  • Pamela Marcogliese, Partner, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer US LLP
  • Lana Adair, Director, The Blueshirt Group, IR for IPOs & SPACs
  • Eklavya Saraf, Managing Director, Head of SPAC Listings, Nasdaq
This event has passed.
When
Friday, November 13, 2020
9:00 am - 2:00 pm PST
Where
Virtual Event
Speakers

Olympia McNerney

Managing Director,

Goldman Sachs

David Panton

Managing Partner,

Navigation Capital Partners

Kevin Hartz

Co-Founder & CEO,

A*

Joanna Coles

Chairwoman & CEO,

Northern Star Acquisition Company, Executive Producer, and former Chief Content Officer, Hearst Magazines

Pamela Marcogliese

Partner,

Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer US LLP

Betsy Cohen

Founder,

The Bancorp & Chairman, Fintech Acquisition Corp. IV

Michael Harris

Head of Capital Markets,

Citadel Securities

George Arison

Co-founder & Co-CEO,

SHIFT

Elinor L. Hoover

Global Co-Head, Consumer Products Group

Citi

John Tuttle

Vice Chairman & Chief Commercial Officer,

NYSE Group

Lana Adair

Director,

The Blueshirt Group, IR for IPOs & SPACs

Eklavya Saraf

Managing Director, Head of SPAC Listings,

Nasdaq

Agenda

9:00am PT
(12:00pm ET)

The State of SPAC Play

Kevin Hartz, Co-Founder & CEO, A* interviewed by Jessica Lessin, Founder & CEO, The Information

9:30am PT
(12:30pm ET)

Which Companies Should Go Public via a SPAC and Why?

Topics to include the trade offs between a direct listing, IPO and SPAC acquisition. Also, why VCs and private equity firms are pushing them.

Moderated by Jessica Lessin, Founder & CEO, The Information

  • George Arison, Co-founder & Co-CEO, SHIFT
  • Olympia McNerney, Managing Director, Goldman Sachs

10:20am PT
(1:20pm ET)

Networking Break

10:30am PT
(1:30pm ET)

Anatomy and Lifecycle of a SPAC Deal

Betsy Cohen, Founder, The Bancorp & Chairman, Fintech Acquisition Corp. IV, interviewed by Ross Matican, Reporter, The Information

11:10am PT
(2:10pm ET)

Breakout Sessions

  • Best practices for managing investor relations in the entire SPAC lifecycle, from IPO to de-SPAC and beyond: Lana Adair,  IPO, SPAC & Public Company Investor Relations, The Blueshirt Group
  • The economics of a SPAC deal, including how different parties involved can negotiate mutually beneficial deal terms and land on the right merger target: Eklavya Saraf, Managing Director, Head of SPAC Listings
  • Regulatory considerations in SPAC deals, from the first registration statement with the SEC to post-merger litigation: Pamela Marcogliese, Partner, Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer US LLP

11:45am PT
(2:45pm ET)

Networking Break

12:15pm PT
(3:15pm ET)

Investor Perspective: Why aren’t more investors jumping into SPACs and who is investing today?

Moderated by Martin Peers, Managing Editor, The Information

  • David Panton, Managing Partner, Navigation Capital Partners
  • Michael Harris, Head of Capital Markets, Citadel Securities
  • Elinor L. Hoover, Global Co-Head of the Consumer Products Group, Citi
  • John Tuttle, Vice Chairman & Chief Commercial Officer, NYSE

1:00pm PT
(4:00pm ET)

SPAC is the New Black

Joanna Coles, CEO, Northern Star interviewed by Jessica Lessin, Founder & CEO, The Information

1:30pm PT
(4:30pm ET)

Attendee Networking

2:00pm PT
(5:00pm ET)

Event Concludes