Event Image
Subscriber Event

The Information's Future of Startups: Lessons for Next-Gen Disruptors

Thursday, February 4, 2021 • 8:00 am - 6:00 pm

The Information's Future of Startups: Lessons for Next-Gen Disruptors is a two day event for startup managers, CEOs, and investors to learn from founders of category-defining businesses. Join us to better understand how the most promising and fast-growing startups work and how leaders are managing during these challenging times.

    Speakers to include:

    • Google Former CEO & Schmidt Futures Co-founder Eric Schmidt
    • Sunshine Co-founder & Yahoo former CEO Marissa Mayer
    • Carta Co-founder & CEO Henry Ward
    • Notion COO Akshay Kothari
    • Cloudflare Co-founder, President & COO Michelle Zatlyn
    • Substack Co-founders Chris Best & Hamish McKenzie
    • Coupang CTO Thuan Pham (former Uber CTO)
    • OpenAI Co-founder & CEO Sam Altman
    • Zola Co-founder & CEO Shan-Lyn Ma
    • Cameo Co-founder & CEO Steven Galanis
    • Magic Leap Chief Business Officer Walter Delph
    • Precursor Ventures Founder & Managing Partner, Charles Hudson
    • Forerunner Ventures Founder & Managing Partner, Kirsten Green
    • Upfront Ventures Partner, Kara Nortman
    • Mirror Founder & CEO Brynn Putnam (now part of Lululemon)
    • Expensify Founder & CEO David Barrett
    • Intuit EVP & CTO Marianna Tessel
    • All Turtles & mmhmm Co-founder & CEO Phil Libin
    • Niantic Chief Operating Officer Megan Quinn

    Topics include:

    • The ways in which tech leaders are navigating cultural and financial pressures and opportunities amid the pandemic, including managing WFH productivity and office plans for 2021.
    • How leaders are balancing the political views of their employees and their customers.
    • How founders are exploiting new and traditional capital opportunities, as well as a slew of exit opportunities, while paying close attention to terms. 
    • Traps to avoid when buying cloud computing services, and building teams and software to take advantage of them.

    The Information's Future of Startups brings attendees deeper into the fold with insider knowledge from established public company executives, founders of late-stage startups (with the scars to prove it), and an exclusive look into the next-generation of billion-dollar tech companies.

    Join us for a day and a half of conversations and the opportunity to connect with and learn from fellow startup leaders during our networking sessions.

    This event has passed.
    When
    Thursday, February 4, 2021
    8:00 am - 6:00 pm PST
    Where
    Virtual Event
    Who Can Attend
    • Tickets are $599.
    • Current Information subscribers can purchase a discounted ticket for $299.
    • All Access subscribers will receive a free ticket to the event (1 ticket per All Access subscriber, tickets are non-transferable). Contact events@theinformation.com if you haven't received an email with your registration link. 
    Speakers

    Sam Altman

    Co-founder & CEO,

    OpenAI

    Michelle Zatlyn

    Co-founder, President & COO,

    Cloudflare

    Akshay Kothari

    COO,

    Notion

    Eric Schmidt

    Former CEO, Google

    Co-founder, Schmidt Futures

    Steven Galanis

    Co-founder & CEO,

    Cameo

    Marissa Mayer

    Co-founder, Sunshine

    Former CEO, Yahoo

    Chris Best

    Co-founder & CEO,

    Substack

    Hamish McKenzie

    Co-founder,

    Substack

    Shan-Lyn Ma

    Co-founder & CEO,

    Zola

    Walter Delph

    Chief Business Officer,

    Magic Leap

    Thuan Pham

    CTO,

    Coupang (former CTO, Uber)

    Henry Ward

    Co-founder & CEO,

    Carta

    Charles Hudson

    Founder & Managing Partner,

    Precursor Ventures

    Brynn Putnam

    Founder & CEO,

    Mirror (now part of Lululemon)

    David Barrett

    Founder & CEO,

    Expensify

    Kirsten Green

    Founder & Managing Partner,

    Forerunner Ventures

    Marianna Tessel

    EVP & CTO,

    Intuit

    Megan Quinn

    Chief Operating Officer,

    Niantic

    Phil Libin

    Co-founder & CEO,

    All Turtles & mmhmm

    Kara Nortman

    Partner,

    Upfront Ventures

    Jason Williamson
    VP & Global Head,
    Oracle for Startups & Oracle for Research

    Courtney Dong
    Associate Director, Growth Technology,
    Boston Consulting Group

    Leah Solivan
    General Partner, Fuel Capital & Founder, TaskRabbit

    Shannon Goggin
    Co-founder & CEO,
    Noyo
    Mada Seghete
    Co-founder & VP, Marketing,
    Branch

    Morgan Beller
    General Partner, NFX,
    Co-creator, Diem & 
    Former Head of Strategy, Novi (Facebook)

    Danielle Cohn
    VP, Startup Engagement and Head of LIFT Labs,
    Comcast NBCUniversal

     
    Agenda
      Day 1 - Wednesday, February 3
    2:00pm PT
    (5:00pm ET)
    Welcome & Opening Remarks
    2:05pm PT
    (5:05pm ET)
    Marissa Mayer, Co-founder, Sunshine & Former Yahoo CEO in conversation with Jessica Lessin, Founder & CEO, The Information
    2:45pm PT
    (5:45pm ET)
    Networking Break
    3:00pm PT
    (6:00pm ET)

    Chris Best, Co-founder & CEO, Substack & Hamish McKenzie, Co-founder, Substack in conversation with Jessica Lessin, Founder & CEO, The Information

    3:45pm PT
    (6:45pm ET)
    Henry Ward, Co-founder & CEO, Carta, in conversation with Zoe Bernard, Reporter, The Information
    4:15pm PT
    (7:15pm ET)
    Attendee Networking Continues
    4:30pm PT
    (7:30pm ET)
    Day 1 Concludes
       
      Day 2 - Thursday, February 4

    8:00am PT
    (11am ET)

    Early Morning Networking

    8:45am PT
    (11:45am ET)

    Sam Altman, Co-founder & CEO, OpenAI, in conversation with Jessica Lessin, Founder & CEO, The Information

    9:20am PT
    (12:20pm ET)

    Shan-Lyn Ma, Co-founder & CEO, Zola & Kirsten Green, Founder & Managing Partner, Forerunner Ventures, in conversation with Kate Clark, Reporter, The Information

    10:00am PT
    (1:00pm ET)

    Charles Hudson, Founder & Managing Partner, Precursor Ventures & Kara Nortman, Partner, Upfront Ventures in conversation with Kate Clark, Reporter, The Information

    10:35am PT
    (1:35pm ET)

    Michelle Zatlyn, Co-founder, President & COO, Cloudflare in conversation with Kate Clark, Reporter, The Information

    11:10am PT
    (2:10pm ET)

    AR/VR Panel

    • Phil Libin, Co-founder & CEO, All Turtles & mmhmm
    • Megan Quinn, COO, Niantic
    • Walter Delph, Chief Business Officer, Magic Leap

    in conversation with Alex Heath, Reporter, The Information

    11:45am PT
    (2:45pm ET)

    Networking Break

    12:00pm PT
    (3:00pm ET)

    Breakout Sessions

    • Investor Wish List: What Startups Should Exist, but Don't Yet
      • Leah Solivan, General Partner, Fuel Capital and Founder, TaskRabbit
      • Jason Williamson, VP and Global Head, Oracle for Startups and Oracle for Research
      • Danielle Cohn, VP, Startup Engagement and Head of LIFT Labs, Comcast NBCUniversal
    • What’s Next for Female Founders
      • Moderated by: Courtney Dong, Associate Director, Growth Technology, Boston Consulting Group
      • Shannon Goggin, Co-founder & CEO, Noyo
      • Mada Seghete, Co-founder & VP, Marketing, Branch
    • Crypto in 2021
      • Morgan Beller, General Partner, NFX, Co-creator, Diem & Former Head of Strategy, Novi (Facebook)

    12:45pm PT
    (3:45pm ET)

    Networking Break

    1:00pm PT
    (4:00pm ET)

    Brynn Putnam, Founder & CEO, Mirror, in conversation with Jessica Lessin, Founder & CEO, The Information

    1:40pm PT
    (4:40pm ET)

    Akshay Kothari, COO, Notion, in conversation with Amir Efrati, Executive Editor, The Information

    2:15pm PT
    (5:15pm ET)

    Networking Break

    3:00pm PT
    (6:00pm ET)

    Thuan Pham, CTO, Coupang & Marianna Tessel, EVP & CTO, Intuit in conversation with Amir Efrati, Executive Editor, The Information

    3:40pm PT
    (6:40pm ET)

    Steven Galanis, Co-founder & CEO, Cameo & David Barrett, Founder & CEO, Expensify in conversation with Zoe Bernard, Reporter, The Information

    4:15pm PT
    (7:15pm ET)

    Eric Schmidt, Former CEO, Google, in conversation with Jessica Lessin, Founder & CEO, The Information
    5:00pm PT
    (8:00pm ET)
    Event Concludes

    Thank You to Our Sponsors